Pride and Vulnerability

I have to share with you this wonderful truth that I have come across recently. This new endeavor for me in this blog has come with much hesitation. God has asked me to share what he is teaching me and that means I’m putting a lot of myself out there that may not regularly be seen by people. Like I said in my last post, I have spent most of my life with this idea that others saw me as perfect. I always knew that was completely untrue, but there was a fight that ensued within me when people would tell me how “good” I was. I definitely had a healthy self confidence, but I knew that I fell short when it came to comparison with our Holy God. So in my surrender to God’s work, I have asked him to show me what areas of my life are not “good”. A funny thing happens when you ask God to show you where you need some work done in your heart . . . He answers. And he doesn’t hold back. I couldn’t see it at first, but the pride in my heart became quite clear. This self righteousness that I was not as bad as “those people”, whoever those people are, was now glaring. So he’s been working on my heart, humbling me, teaching me wonderful truths and that I am so in need of his amazing grace. And then to test that faith, he asks me to share, to open my story and life and heart and let him use it for his kingdom. The short comings, the hurt, the guilt, the repentance, the renewed heart, he wants me to share it all.

Enter, Vulnerability. That awful word. Or at least so I thought. Then I saw this video:

Actually, I saw her TED Talks originally which are amazing and if you have time I recommend checking them out:

Brenè Brown at TEDxHuston

Brenè Brown: Listening to Shame

But this gets the basic idea across, that vulnerability is a good thing, a great thing even. It helps you to live life wholeheartedly. It also takes courage. Brenè talks about in her second TED Talk how we look at vulnerability as weakness and with fear, yet when you see someone being vulnerable you think of them as courageous. This was exactly what I needed to hear. God’s good about bringing those right words at the right time, isn’t he?

I’m going to start getting into my story here soon, I promise. I just wanted to preface with this awesome idea and ask for your sensitivity. I also want to encourage you to be open to the idea of being vulnerable. If not here with me in the comments, maybe with a friend or family member. It’s one of those really scary, thrilling, freeing things. Give it a try.

image

2 thoughts on “Pride and Vulnerability

Leave a Reply

